Why your team should be disrupted

And happy birthday to a book!

The other day my wife reminded me of a milestone for one of my books. It was the anniversary (or birthday as she called it) of the release of Team Mastery.

It was inspired largely by our youngest - Grayson - who we were told was medically impossible but (as Jeff Goldblum said) “life finds a way”. So we consciously disrupted our “team” of 4.

As we did we were given a set of milestone cards to photograph at key points in his life and development. Things like:

“Today I rolled over”

“Today I slept through the night”

“Today I had a poonami” (look it up…or don’t!)

Anyway, it got me thinking about the milestones that great teams go through on their journey to self-management but don’t necessarily notice or celebrate. So I thought I would create just that.

Anyway…happy birthday to that book!

Happy Birthday Team Mastery

Great teams are needed more than ever

You’ve probably heard a lot of noise about Scrum Masters, agile coaches, Product Owners and even things like Scrum and SAFe.

Regardless of whether you have a Scrum Master or a delivery manager, if you’re operating in a VUCA world, self-managing teams are essential so I think helping those teams grow into their autonomy is even more important than ever.

Personally I love helping a team take greater ownership of their destiny, start challenging the constraints (both real and perceived) around their decision-making and really drive value.

And not only is the end-state amazing, but the journey is enjoyable too.

Stability or Disruption?

Aside from my possible over-share this week’s blog post is about team stability and how I’ve always been torn on the subject.

On the one hand, teams that stay together for longer bond more, understand each other more and build deeper relationships that allow them to solve wicked problems and overcome big challenges.

On the other hand, contexts change and sometimes we need different skills, different personalities and a different make-up. Sometimes just freshening things up has a great impact.

So I wrote about this and you can read it here

Let me know what you think